top of page


Forensic Nursing Program:


  • Also known as SANEs (Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner)

  • Forensic Nurses are experienced Registered Nurses, or Advanced Practice Nurses, who are educated in the care of patients whose healthcare needs intersect with the legal system.

  • Forensic Nurses provide comprehensive, compassionate medical care to survivors of sexual assault including head to toe assessment, injury recognition, evidence collection, testing for drug facilitated sexual assault, medication administration, aftercare referral, and expert courtroom testimony.

  • All forensic nursing team members are certified sexual assault nurse examiners (SANE) by The Texas Office of the Attorney General and/or The International Association of Forensic Nursing.  Forensic nurses meet rigorous initial certification and participate in ongoing continuing education and peer review.

  • Research has shown that post assault care administered by forensic nurses  increases reporting rates, prosecution rates, and decreases incidences of post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). 

  • If you are interested in receiving information on Adult/Adolescent Clinical Skills Training offered by The Turning Point please contact us at

Requirements to Become a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner in Texas:

  • Current and unencumbered RN license with Texas Board of Nursing (BON)

  • Minimum of 2 years direct contact with patients as an RN within the last 5 years

  • Complete an approved Office of Attorney General (OAG) SANE Training Course (introduction to SANE role)

  • Clinical Requirements (Adult/Adolescent SANE)

    • 10 Pelvic Examinations

    • 8 Adult/Adolescent Sexual Assault Medical Forensic Examinations

      • At least 6 Acute exams with use of evidence kit

      • 2 may be Adult forensic exam simulations

  • Courtroom Observation – 16 hours in person

  • For more information see the Texas OAG SANE Certification or IAFN site

Sexual Assault Response Team


SARTs are committed to victims' rights and needs, by organizing their service delivery to enhance evidence collection, and by educating the community about services available for the intervention and prevention of sexual assault (National Center for the Prosecution on Violence Against Women, 1998).

The SART is typically composed of:


  • Rape Crisis Centers

  • Victim Advocates

  • Law Enforcement

  • Hospital Personnel

  • Forensic Examiners

  • Forensic Scientists

  • Prosecutors

  • Any respondent who encounters survivors of sexual assault


Collin County SART is a multidisciplinary team working together to develop protocols and guidelines that focus on victims' needs through collaboration and a shared mission.


Research has shown that the collaboration of team members leads to increased reporting and conviction rates.  

If you are a community partner and you are interested in joining the Collin County SART, please contact us at

Clinical Skills Training 7.15.23 Save the Date.pdf.png
bottom of page